top of page

Septs ou noms associés

Qu'est-ce qu'un septembre ??

Dans le contexte des clans écossais, les septs sont des familles qui ont suivi le chef d'une autre famille. Ces plus petits septs constitueraient alors et feraient partie du plus grand clan du chef. Un sept pourrait suivre un autre chef si deux familles étaient liées par le mariage ; ou, si une famille vivait sur la terre d'un puissant seigneur , ils le suivraient, qu'ils soient apparentés ou non. Des liens de rente étaient parfois utilisés pour lier des chefs mineurs et ses partisans à des chefs plus puissants.

Le clan Logan n'est pas un sept du clan Maclennan

Bien que nous partagions le même tartan et que nous soyons liés par l'histoire, nous ne sommes pas un sept du clan Maclennan. Nous sommes deux clans indépendants distincts qui ont chacun leur propre mérite dans la riche histoire de l'Écosse. Nous avons reçu une lettre clarifiant ce fait de l'ancien Lord Lyon lui-même, M.Robin Blair, LVO,WS datée du 25 septembre 2002. Il dit ce qui suit :

cher Monsieur

Merci pour votre lettre du 14 septembre. La position est que ni dans la nomination de  Ronald George MacLennan en tant que chef en 1978 ni dans la nomination de son fils cette année n'est le nom de Logan Incorporated. La nomination fait simplement référence au clan MacLennan.

 

L'histoire a lié les Logan et les MacLennan, mais en 1672, lorsque le Registre public de toutes les armes et roulements en Écosse a été créé, il y avait clairement deux groupes distincts. Bien qu'aucune arme n'ait été enregistrée pour MacLennan, on sait qu'il y avait un chef à cette époque.  Les armes ont été enregistrées par George Logan de cet acabit en 1673, ce qui indiquerait qu'il était le chef du nom de Logan à cette époque.

 

Vos fidèles,

Robin Blair

 

Lord Lyon letter

Copie de la lettre que le clan Logan a reçue du Seigneur Lyon lui-même

Le clan Logan n'a pas de sept, mais il existe de nombreux noms dérivés de Logan qui pourraient très bien être des descendants de nous. Voici une liste.

Les noms associés au clan Logan sont :

Lagan, Laggan, Leonerd, Loban, Lobban, Loben, Logane, Logan, Logen, Logg,
Loggan, Loggane, Loggans, Loghane, Loghyn, Connexion, Logyn, Lopan, Lowgan, Lyndon

bottom of page

Septs or associated names

What is a Sept??

In the context of Scottish clans, septs are families that followed another family's chief. These smaller septs would then comprise, and be part of, the chief's larger clan. A sept might follow another chief if two families were linked through marriage; or, if a family lived on the land of a powerful laird, they would follow him whether they were related or not. Bonds of manrent were sometimes used to bind lesser chiefs and his followers to more powerful chiefs.

Clan Logan is not a sept of Clan Maclennan

Although we share the same tartan and we are linked through history, we are not a sept of Clan Maclennan. We are two seperate independant clans that each have their own merit in Scotland's rich history. We have received a letter clarifying that fact from the former Lord Lyon himself, Mr.Robin Blair, LVO,WS dated September 25th, 2002. he says the following:

Dear Sir

Thank you for your letter of 14 September. The position is that neither in the appointment of  Ronald George MacLennan as chief in 1978 nor in the appointment of his son this year is the name Logan Incorporated. The appointment refers simply to Clan MacLennan.

 

History has linked the Logans and the MacLennan, but in 1672 when the Public Register of All Arms and Bearings in Scotland was set up there were clearly two separate groups. Although no arms were recorded for MacLennan is known that there was a Chief at that time. Arms were recorded by George Logan of that Ilk in 1673 which would indicate that he was Chief of the Name of Logan at that time.

 

Your Faithfull,

Robin Blair

 

Copy of the letter Clan Logan received from The Lord Lyon himself

Clan Logan does not have any septs but there are many names that are derived from Logan that could very well be descendants of us. Here's a list.

The associated names to Clan Logan are:

Lagan, Laggan, Leonerd, Loban, Lobban, Loben, Logane, Logan, Logen, Logg,
Loggan,Loggane, Loggans, Loghane, Loghyn, Login, Logyn, lopan, Lowgan, Lyndon

About us

The Clan Logan Society of Canada is based in Verdun, Quebec. It was founded by Steven Logan, Clan Logan Commissioner in 2015. We want to reunite all the Logans across the country and also find our Scottish Clan Chief.

     Contact information

If you would like to know more, keep in touch! Send us an email!

clan_logan_society@yahoo.com

   Don't hesitate to follow us!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

membership

Membership is open to all Logans of Scottish descent and their friends. If you would like to join us, please fill out the form bellow and let us know!

We also accept donations through

paypa logo
Copyright, 2020, Clan Logan
This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now